//
you're reading...
Categories, Self-Reflections

what this blog is about…


This is a blog about my journey to live life fully. I will document two main topics:

1. my efforts to live out my dreams/goals (including but not limited to):

  • attaining a PhD-level education (whether formally or informally),
  • becoming internally driven (i.e., doing things such as the above bullet-point without say, the structures of the classroom),
  • putting my beliefs into action,
  • building community alongside my spouse;

2. the pursuit of my interests (including but not limited to):

  • reading,
  • (serious) writing,
  • thinking critically,
  • dialoguing,
  • martial art-ing,
  • creating.

Since I began my full-time job, my interests, goals, and dreams have been left unattended. While tiredness and the loss of free time are significant factors, the main reason why I do not pursue what I want to (or feel I should) do is due to my lack of accountability.

A prime example: I love reading and writing and hope to write professionally. But because I am out of school and therefore not required to read or write, I don’t. The second I open the front door, all I want to do is relax. I plump down on the couch, turn on the idiot-box, and veg out until bed-time.  “I have a job and I’m content for now,” I ration. Thus, because nothing pushes me to pursue my aforementioned goals/interests, they, like my all my other pharcyde dreams, keep passin’ me by.

So I hope you’ll join this bizarre ride with me.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

About this blog

Every night before saying goodnight, my father prayed for his children to "be strong and courageous." This blog is an attempt to live up to that hope.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 620 other followers

Goodreads

